What does luxury means?

“Luxury is the ease of a t-shirt in a very expensive dress.”

Karl Lagerfeld

I decided to pick this quotation by Karl Lagerfield because it sums up my point and my idea about luxury.

Luxury for me means freedom: freedom to do whatever I want, freedom to buy whatever I want, freedom to travel, freedom to spend, freedom to experience and freedom to be.

Jean-Louis Dumas-Hermès, the late former chairman of Hermès, offered a similar definition: “A luxury brand is one that manages to meet three conditions: designing beautiful objects; choosing the consumer as the best vector of communication, and finally, deciding freely”.

I also think that luxury means exclusivity: people who have the possibilities to buy that kind of garments want to fell unique, special, precious and important. That’s, according to me, the feelings luxury clients want to experience and the feelings that we, working in this field, have to bear in mind and try to give them.

Leave a Reply

