Lavinia Pontello Strozzi

Schermata 2015-02-10 a 23.30.13

Hello!

My name is Lavinia, I am 26 and was born and raised in Florence, the cradle of Renaissance. I have always been curious and eager to take on new challenges. At the age of 19 I moved to Milan to pursue undergraduate studies in Business Administration and then decided to add an International perspective to my academic preparation by completing a Master’s Degree in Accounting at the London School of Economics and Political Science, UK.

Living in London has opened my eyes to a wealth of new opportunities in terms of social and professional networking and has helped me identify my ideal career path. After interning in the Business Development departments of two major fashion companies, Ferragamo and Prada, I resolved that I wanted to pursue a career in the luxury good sector. The practical knowledge and expertise I gained through both these experiences encouraged me to try my hand as an entrepreneur by cooperating in the start up of a company producing Spanish Espadrilles.

Determination, perfectionism, modesty and a positive attitude – smiling is the key to success in business– combined with a good sense of humour – are my strongest points.

Adventurous journeys (my trip to Nepal was the most exciting experience I’ve ever had!!), reading, skiing and playing tennis are my favourite leisure activities. I’m also addicted to movies and, over the years, I have cultivated this passion by acquiring a solid grounding in cinema history through self-taught learning as well as by working for a fashion movie company. I greatly admire Luchino Visconti’s lavish style: The Leopard is my favourite movie – if I ever have a son I will call him “Tancredi”!!!

Last but not least I am a contemporary art lover. I have an innate hedonistic vein and a keen interest in the arts – Gerhard Richter, Jean Dubuffet and Jean-Michel Basquiat are the artists I love. I will never forget my amazing internship with the Contemporary Art Department at Sotheby’s, London.

My dream? I am determined to pursue my “Italian dream”, which is, as a future entrepreneur in the luxury sector, to make my contribution to safeguarding, promoting and exporting Italy’s cultural heritage and manufacturing tradition internationally. Will I accomplish my intended goal? Of course I will . As Paulo Coelho would put it: “There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure”. But I am not afraid of failure becuase I totaly share Keats’ view when he stated that “I would sooner fail than not be among the best”

it.linkedin.com/in/laviniapontellostrozzi

IMG_0651

Leave a Reply

